Advance planning for maximising crops.

I’ve realised that my generally scatter brained laid back approach to life won’t work with the garden, not if I want it to eventually feed me well so totally against my nature I’ve spent the best part of Sunday surrounded by seed catalogues and gardening books of which I have an ever expanding collection, but Amazon have morally questionable tax practices in the UK so I’ve been hanging out in second hand book stores which all seem to have lovely musty smell that you’ll never get with E-book.

I have a growing list of things I’d like to try and grow and the only way that I could track what to sow indoors or outdoors, or to plant out when and to coordinate the bounty was to use Excel, I hate Excel well spread sheets in general they’re far to linear for my liking.

The other reason for using a sheet is that, for me, it’s very so easy to get carried away with buying seeds. Some women get excited by shoes or having their nails done, I live in converse and I quickly learned that gardening in the way I am not only breaks your back but my nails all broke on the first day of weeding and digging. For me seeds are where it’s at and I defy anyone that tries to live like this not to get sucked in to the world of potential glorious food all from a little packet.

I eat a lot of Courgettes which Sainsbury’s sell a plastic wrapped packet of three organic boring green things for £2, one pack of seeds that I also planted in years one which performed very well gave me so many courgettes I ended up giving them away, the trick is to pick them young so the plant doesn’t put all its energy into producing super big fruits. Really that pack of seeds works out at 90p per year for all the courgettes you can eat in a season. My plan is to eventually figure out how to preserve them in a tasty way.

My grow chart is split into separate headings. Perennials, soft fruits both of which only need planting once and will offer structure to the garden. The annual crops which I’ll grow from seeds every year and as time goes on I’ll hopefully learn how to harvest my own seeds so I don’t need to buy them making my food even cheaper! There are herbs which are essential and the edible flowers which I know nothing about so it’s a whole lot research on those at the minute and I haven’t gotten round to doing it.

The other main reason for the spread sheet is that when talking about the project with people the first question asked is always “ what are going to grow”? To which my response so far has been “errrrrrrm, all of it” which generally leads to me chuntering on about how little nutrients are in supermarket veggies.

The main structure of the garden will be provided by the perennials and soft fruits.

Fruit Table

Red is when the plant can be planted. Green is the expected harvest.

You can down load the PDF of this file with links to my preferred supplier Here.

Yellow is when sowing outside.  Blue for sowing inside. Red is when the plant can be planted.  Green is the expected harvest.

Yellow is when sowing outside.
Blue for sowing inside.
Red is when the plant can be planted.
Green is the expected harvest.

You can down load the PDF of this file with links to my preferred supplier Here     The rest of the garden is fluid and I have endless pieces of paper that have various planting plans and layouts but nothing set in stone as I’ve not even bought the soil in yet or finished selecting the rest of my crops and flowers both edible and otherwise.

Leave a Reply

