Carrot Cake the way I like it.

carrot cakeSince my last post I’ve been trying to perfect the carrot cake. Now if I’m not a chef I’m certainly not a baker but perseverance is it’s own reward, although I couldn’t care less if I ever eat another carrot cake as long as I live and I bet my friends that I palmed them off on feel the same.

I’ve learned a few things during this one of those things is that everyone has a carrot cake favourite and for me they shouldn’t have fruit in them and if you split the eggs first and whip the whites to peeks before folding them gently into the other ingredients then the results are so much lighter.

 

150g soft brown sugar

150g unsalted organic butter

250g of grated carrot

300g smashed walnuts

Cap vanilla extract

½ tsp ground nutmeg

½ tsp cinnamon

1 ½ tsp mixed spice

4 eggs separated

1 tsp baking powder

200g Self raising flour

Orange zest and juice

 

This is your basic cake assembly even if you don’t have a food mixer it’s still not a great effort, I don’t have a mixer anymore, my trust cheapo finally gave up the ghost and I’m holding out for a magi mix or kitchen aid but I have other things to do with  my money at the moment like get the kitchen garden ready for next year.

You’ll need two bowls one for the main mix and one for the egg whites . In one of the bowls throw in the sugar and the softened butter and beat the living daylights out of it until it’s smooth then throw in the three spices, the vanilla and the orange zest with the juice and mix it again until you have a good distribution.

Next toss in the walnuts and the egg yolks and the carrot and give it another good spanking, I use a wooden spoon and just go for it. The last thing is to sieve in the floor and the baking powder and mix it all together and set it to one side for a second.

Add a pinch of salt to the egg whites and whisk them to soft peaks before adding the to the main mix and folding through until evenly distributed, take your time with this, there’s a lot of fluffy air in the whites and that will make your cake LUSH.

Now the other thing is your oven will be different to mine so keep a eye on the cakes but at the minute I whack the oven up to 240oC and after I’ve filled the muffin trays and as soon as I’ve closed the oven door I turn the down to 175oC on a lower position in the oven and let them do their thing. I rotate the tray after 20 minutes and first test them when they all look golden on top. Probe them with a Knife and if it comes out clean then they’re done. Take them out and let them cool in the trays before removing for decoration.

I buy the So organic range oranges the flavours are amazing and buy the best eggs you can. Apparently duck eggs are quite good to bake with so I might give that ago one day. Also don’t bother with cheap butter, yet again I use the organic stuff.

2 responses to “Carrot Cake the way I like it.

  1. Best carrott cake ever. As one of those friends that were given the opportunity to sample the carrot cakes I have to say they are superb but I love cakes fullstop.However I will kill anyone in my house who tries to take one of the remaining cakes from me.

  2. Pingback: Dark chocolate and bloody orange cupcakes. |·

Leave a Reply

