Quicky breakfast

Takes less than 10 minutes

Breakfast is supposed to be the most important part of the day, generally I don’t have time but the other day my Pilates class was cancelled and I found myself with a bit of time on my hands so I raided the fridge, not that there was much in there but this is what you can do with year little and it’s a bit of a none recipe, it’s more of a assembling stuff on toast.

I love figs in their succulent red vibrant lushness, they just scream out eat me, it’s their purpose in life to make your mouth the happiest  hole in your head.

All you need to do is make some toast, I use Burgen Soya and Linseed bread mainly because it’s low gluten without being like cardboard and the seeds toast really well. It’s up to you if you put butter on it or not.

I love butter, everything is made better with butter in my opinion the richer the better and for me butter like everything else is down to the environment and if you can buy organic butter made from cow juice from happy cows then the butter has to taste better. I also make the choice to support products where the raw materials are from British farms, I love a good farmers market and I’ve been known to buy artisan butter in bulk .

While the bread is toasting mush up enough soft cheese to cover the quantity of toast you’re making, and throw in some chopped chives. I always have chives, fresh herbs are so important and a small pot can be grown in a window box if that’s all you have. In this they’re used to pimp some simple feta cheese.

Now I know the photo looks all lovely and tidy but that’s not normally how I eat this. Usually I dollop the cheese on the buttered toast rip open the figs, I love the way the flesh rips and the texture of the juicy innards and shove it in the front of my face. It’s so tasty I always regret not making more but i have to keep a keen eye on portion control.

Leave a Reply

